Floyd, Chickasaw & Butler Counties Declared Disaster Areas

Charles City, Iowa – Iowa Governor Terry Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds have declared Floyd County, along with Butler and Chickasaw counties as disaster areas after the recent flooding.

Representative Todd Prichard released details about the declaration.

Prichard said the proclamation will free up some funding to assist with flood response and recovery efforts.

Prichard said residents have to apply for the available funding.

Hard copies of the application are available at the Floyd County Auditor’s Office as well as Charles City City Hall.

Prichard said a 24-hour disaster crisis counseling program for flood victims is also available.

Prichard talked about the phenomenal response from all the emergency personnel and volunteers who have been on hand to help with the flood.

Applications for assistance can be obtained online by clicking here. The disaster crisis counseling number is 800-447-1985.

Listen to the full interview with Todd Prichard and KCHA’s Chris Berg:

About Chris Berg 1089 Articles
Chris was born in Webster City and raised in Charles City. As a young kid, he would always be caught singing along to songs on the radio. He says he's good at karaoke but we think otherwise. ;) In his free time, he enjoys beginning new projects at home and hardly ever finishing them. Chris lives in Charles City with his wife Vicki and a daughter Brynlee.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.