Presidential disaster approved for 19 Iowa counties

Des Moines, Iowa (AP) – President Barack Obama has approved a major disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties because of storms and flooding in September and October.

That makes federal funding available to state and local government agencies and some nonprofit organizations.

The money will help perform emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding that occurred between Sept. 21 and Oct. 3.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Most of the counties are in northeast and north-central Iowa but Des Moines County in southeast Iowa also is included.

About Chris Berg 684 Articles
Chris was born in Webster City and raised in Charles City. As a young kid, he would always be caught singing along to songs on the radio. He says he's good at karaoke but we think otherwise. ;) In his free time, he enjoys beginning new projects at home and hardly ever finishing them. Chris lives in Charles City with his wife Vicki and a daughter Brynlee.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.