Charles City Rotary holds awards banquet; installs new district governor

Charles City, Iowa – The Charles City Rotary Club held their annual awards banquet on Monday night at the Elk’s Club and recognized numerous area volunteers.  The night was also used to install Charles City attorney, Ralph Smith, as new district governor for the Rotary District 59-70.  Smith will preside over the 53 Rotary Clubs in the northern one-third of Iowa starting July 1st. KCHA owner, Jim Coloff, who is currently serving as district governor, passed the duties to Smith at the banquet.

The Club presented the Sam Soifer Community Service Award to local businessman, Jeff Sisson.  The Leo Lidd Vocational Service Award went to Deb Lincoln.  Former auto store owner, Jon Ebert, was presented the Rotarian of the Year award, and Rotarian Linda Klemsrud was given the President’s Award by outgoing club president, Randy Heitz.

The club also presented an honorary Paul Harris Fellowship to Charles City City Administrator, Steve Diers, in recognition of his commitment to making Charles City a better place to live.  Other Paul Harris Fellowship honorees were Rotarians: Staci Ackerson, Tom Gaffey, Dick Avril, Marcie Andrews, Cathy Rottinghaus, Chris Garden, Pat Gebel, Randy Heitz and Larry Pump.

The club also presented $1-thousand dollar scholarships to local high school students, Autumn Gerber and Alysha Bilharz.

The Charles City Rotary Club meets every Monday at Noon at the the Elk’s Club.

About Chris Berg 1089 Articles
Chris was born in Webster City and raised in Charles City. As a young kid, he would always be caught singing along to songs on the radio. He says he's good at karaoke but we think otherwise. ;) In his free time, he enjoys beginning new projects at home and hardly ever finishing them. Chris lives in Charles City with his wife Vicki and a daughter Brynlee.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.