Gov. Reynolds Announces Funding To Five Area Schools For Computer Programs

Des Moines, Iowa – Governor Kim Reynolds has announced five area schools have been awarded funding to expand computer science.

New Hampton, Riceville, South Winneshiek, Turkey Valley and Osage are among 49 schools who will receive money from a new one million dollar fund to build their computer science teacher workforce.

Osage and Riceville Superintendent Barb Schwamman says the school districts have had programs in place and are ahead of the game.


“This funding for teachers underscores Iowa’s commitment to giving all students access to the computer science skills and training necessary to fill the jobs of the future,” said Governor Reynolds.

The new computer science professional development incentive fund, along with new voluntary statewide computer science standards, were established as part of a 2017 bill encouraging high-quality computer science instruction in every elementary, middle and high school.  



Kellan Heavican

News & Sports Director

Related Articles

Back to top button