Wind Chill Advisory WIND CHILL ADVISORY - Bremer County  - Butler County  - Cerro Gordo County  - Chickasaw County  - Fayette County  - Floyd County  - Franklin County  - Howard County  - Mitchell County  - Winneshiek County  - Worth County
NewsPolitics & Government

Special Election on How Floyd County Supervisors are Elected Set for August 3

The Coalition for Better County Government will get their wish for a special election on how the board of supervisors are elected in Floyd County.

In a special session Tuesday, the supervisors voted 2-1 to settle district court motions by the Coalition to force the special election, now scheduled for August 3rd. Board Chair Linda Tjaden and Supervisor Roy Schwickerath voted in favor of the move, while Supervisor Doug Kamm voted against it saying he’d prefer things be settled by a judge.

Tjaden reiterated her stance that the issue was not the special election, but rather flaws in the Coalition’s petition submitted June 1st. She says because the petition papers didn’t have the petition’s verbiage on every page, some people didn’t know for sure what they were signing. She added the confusion and subsequent litigation could’ve been avoided if the Coalition would’ve worked with County Auditor Gloria Carr, also the Commissioner of Elections in Floyd County, from the start of their petition drive.

The special election will let voters decide if the current system of three supervisors being elected at-large remains in place, or be elected at large but with equal-population district residence requirements for the members. A third option calls for election from single-member, equal-population districts, in which the electors of each district shall elect one member who must reside in that district.

Carr says running the special election will cost the county about $10,000 and sample ballots will be ready by next week.

Coalition President Gordon Boge said their main goal is better representation for the county’s residents.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA

Back to top button