NewsPolitics & Government

Floyd Co. Supervisors Reflect on Special Election

The three current members of the Floyd County Board of Supervisors met for the first time Monday morning following last week’s special election that will change how future supervisors are elected and represent the county.

The Coalition for Better County Government pushed to get the issue before voters and their support of Plan 3 on the ballot won approval with almost 67% of the votes. Starting with the primary election next June, the county will have three districts of equal population and will elect one supervisor who must reside in each of those districts.

The supervisors met in a workshop session Monday and before  discussing the process of redistricting the county, Board Chair Linda Tjaden said last week’s results showed the Charles City vote didn’t dominate at the ballot box.

However, Tjaden says the people have spoken with their vote and Supervisor Roy Schwickerarth echoed that stance.

With the outcome of the special election, Tjaden, whose current term was slated to run through 2024, would have to seek re-election next year. The terms of Schwickerath and fellow board member, Doug Kamm, are due to end at the end of 2022, but they also could seek re-election.  All three have had “no comment” at this point on whether or not they will pursue re-election.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA

Back to top button