Wind Chill Advisory WIND CHILL ADVISORY - Butler County  - Cerro Gordo County  - Floyd County  - Franklin County  - Mitchell County  - Worth County
CoronavirusEducationHealth & LivingNews

Charles City, New Hampton Schools Among Mental Health Grant Recipients

Charles City and New Hampton are among 10 north Iowa school districts to receive mental health COVID relief grants from the State of Iowa.

Charles City will receive $100,000 and New Hampton $60,000 from Governor Kim Reynolds and the Iowa Department of Education to assist them in providing mental health support and other wraparound services to students and families. 

The Waverly-Shell Rock School District received the area’s largest grant at almost $182,000, with Clear Lake receiving $100,000 and North Fayette Valley getting $88,000. Other school districts receiving mental health grants include $75,000 for Decorah, $70,000 for Denver, $38,000 each to South Winneshiek and Northwood-Kensett, and Tripoli gets $30,000.

The competitive grants come from a pool of $8.6 million through the Governor’s Emergency Education Relief Fund (GEER II), which is part of the federal Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations (CRSSA) Act passed in December 2020. The funds can be utilized to address critical needs resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. 

A total of 64 school districts across the state received mental health grants ranging from just over $2,000 for Cedar Falls up to $650,000 each for Iowa City, Dubuque and Davenport.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA

Back to top button