NewsPolitics & Government

Resetting Floyd County Voting Precincts Comes Before New Supervisor Districts

With the recent passage of a new map for Iowa’s congressional and legislative districts, officials at the county level can proceed with their own redistricting plans based on the 2020 census.

Floyd County Auditor Gloria Carr clarifies the work to be done by the local commission of Susan Nelson, Brian Biershank and Mike Staudt.

The LSA must draw up new supervisor districts after voters, during a special election in August, approved a change in how board members are elected in Floyd county. Since 1970, all three positions were elected at-large, but next year switches to three districts of equal population with one supervisor elected from each district residing in that district.  

Carr says those supervisor districts must be established before candidates can file election papers in early March and be on the ballot for the June primary.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA

Back to top button