NewsPolitics & Government

Floyd County Supervisors Elect New Chair, Vice-Chair

The Floyd County Board of Supervisors has a new chairperson for 2022.

During an organizational board meeting Monday, the supervisors voted to elect Doug Kamm as the new chair, taking over the position from Linda Tjaden, who made the motion to nominate Kamm. Tjaden also nominated Roy Schwickerath to become vice-chair and was also approved.

The supervisors also voted to change their regular meeting schedule to convene every Monday morning at 9 a.m. unless cancelled or rescheduled by the board chair. The move would eliminate the “workshop” sessions where county business is discussed, but not acted upon. The change to the weekly Monday regular meeting also does away with the first and third Tuesday-of-the-month regular meetings at 1 p.m. at which they decided most official business. The board chair can also schedule additional meetings as needed. 

Also on Monday, the supervisors began their reviews of the fiscal year 2023 budgets of the various county departments. The board continued that process during another organizational meeting Tuesday.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA

Back to top button