Charles City’s Luft Finishes Third in Fan Vote for Ms. Wrestler of the Year

Charles City’s Lilly Luft finished third in voting among seven finalists for the Dan Gable Ms. Wrestler of the Year Award.

Fareway Stores and present Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA). Luft, a two-time state champ after winning the 130-pound crown last month, received almost 17.5% of the vote by fans, with Alexis Ross of Fort Dodge getting just over 20% of the votes for second, and Bettendorf’s Ella Schmit taking the top spot with just over 27% of the votes.

Waverly-Shell Rock’s Eva Diaz finished seventh with about 6% of the votes and Decorah’s Naomi Simon was fifth with almost 8.5% of the votes. Both Diaz and Simon are also two-time state champions.

The IWCOA notes that the fan vote winners will count as ONE vote towards the overall voting process. That means, even though Luft placed third in the fan vote, it does not guarantee she will move on to the next round. IWCOA has selected 12 coaches and officials to serve on the committee. The fan vote serves as the 13th vote to break up any ties.

Three finalists for the Ms. Wrestler of the Year which will be announced the week of the 2022 IHSAA State Wrestling Tournament.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA
Back to top button