NewsPolitics & Government

Floyd County Supervisor Tjaden Will Not Run for Re-Election

The first official candidate to run for a seat on the Floyd County Board of Supervisors has filed nomination papers, while another current supervisor has decided not to run for re-election.

Supervisor Linda Tjaden announced Thursday afternoon that she has made the very difficult decision to step down at the end of the year and will not run again for the office. Tjaden was elected to a four-year term that was to run through December 31st, 2024, but would’ve been forced to seek re-election this year as the County switches to a system of three supervisor districts with equal populations and the supervisor residing in the district they represent.  

In fact, because of the change from all supervisors elected at-large since 1970, all three supervisor seats are up for election starting with the June Primary. All three terms would begin January 1st, 2023, with District 1 being a two-year term and Districts 2 and 3 being four-year terms.

According to the Floyd County Auditor’s Office, Jeff Hawbaker has filed to run in the new District 3 which includes the townships of Rockford. Rudd, Rock Grove, Floyd, Cedar and Niles. The new District 1 includes Charles City Precinct 1, plus St. Charles Township South and Ulster, Scott, Union, Pleasant Grove and Riverton townships. The new District 2 includes Charles City precincts 2 and 3, along with St. Charles Township North.

Current Supervisor Roy Schwickerath, who resides in the new District 1, has said it’s his intention not to run again and would not file nomination papers. Supervisor Doug Kamm, who also resides in District 1, has not made his intentions known.

In other candidate filings, which must be submitted by 5 p.m. March 25th, Jesse Lynn Holm will seek to become the new County Treasurer to replace Frank Rottinghaus, who is not seeking re-election.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA
Back to top button