NewsPolitics & Government

Zoll Joins Byrne in Re-Election Bids for Chickasaw County Supervisor Seats

Both incumbents with terms expiring at the end of the year will seek re-election to their seats on the Chickasaw County Board of Supervisors.

District 2 Supervisor Tim Zoll of Ionia filed his candidacy papers on Friday, the final day to officially file to compete in the June Primary. Also filing to run for the seat is Scott Cerwinske of Nashua. Both candidates are Republicans.

Zoll’s current term expires December 31st, as does that of District 5 Supervisor Jason Byrne of Lawler. Byrne, a Democrat, will be opposed in his re-election bid by Republican Travis Suckow of Fredericksburg.

Chickasaw County Treasurer, Recorder and Attorney positions are also up for election this November. The Treasurer’s seat is the only contested race with Republicans Jackie Bohr and Matthew Ysbrand and Democrat Keith J. Hoey running to replace Democrat Sue Breitbach, whose term expires at the end of this year and did not file to see re-election.

Shirley Troyna has filed to seek re-election to County Recorder, but the Democrat has no challenger. Chickasaw County Attorney David Laudner, appointed last September to fill the post vacated by the resignation of Jennifer Schwickerath, has filed to run this November to keep his position  for a four-year term starting January 1, 2023.

See the complete list of candidates who filed by the March 25 deadline below.

Chickasaw County 2022 Primary Election Candidates

County Attorney:

David C. Laudner  (R)


Count Recorder:

Shirley Troyna (D)


County Treasurer:

Keith J. Hoey (D)

Jackie Bohr (R)

Matthew Ysbrand (R)


County Supervisor District #2

Scott Cerwinske (R)

Timothy Zoll (R)


County Supervisor District #5

Jason Byrne (D)

Travis Suckow (R)


Chickasaw County Township Clerks & Trustees (will be on the General Election Ballot)

Bradford Clerk – Adam Johnson

Bradford Trustee – Matthew Bailey

Chickasaw Clerk – Jim Allison

Chickasaw Trustee – Arnold Boge

Dayton Clerk – Julie A. Eckenrod

Dayton Trustee – Larry W. Hilgendorf

Deerfield Clerk – no papers filed

Deerfield Trustee – Tom Boehmer

Dresden Clerk – Merle Rose

Dresden Trustee – no papers filed

Fredericksburg Clerk – Brad Ellison

Fredericksburg Trustee – no papers filed

Jacksonville Clerk – no papers filed 

Jacksonville Trustee – Jo Knutson

Jacksonville Trustee To Fill A Vacancy – Nathan Breitbach

New Hampton Clerk – no papers filed

New Hampton Trustee – no papers filed

Richland Clerk – Janice Edson

Richland Trustee – Troy Gilbert 

Stapleton Clerk – Donald Arens

Stapleton Trustee – Tom Brincks

Utica Clerk – Randy Shatek

Utica Trustee – Thomas Sabelka

Washington Clerk – Dixie Zeien

Washington Trustee – Tony  Schwickerath

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA
Back to top button