NewsPolitics & Government

Transition of Power Set In Motion for Floyd County Board of Supervisors

The transition to a new Floyd County Board of Supervisors is in the works.

The Board will have three new members in 2023, replacing outgoing Supervisors Linda Tjaden, Roy Schwickerath and Doug Kamm. During their regular meeting Monday, the Board discussed commissions and committees they sit on with newly-elected District 1 Supervisor Mark Kuhn, who also served the County previously.

Tjaden said the transition of power should be cooperative.

Tjaden also made a motion to help facilitate the changing of the guard to start 2023.

Approving January 2nd as a holiday also allows for the appointment of a Supervisor for District 3 after Jeff Hawbaker, who won the general election in November, decided to opt out of the post because he would not be able to dedicate the time needed for the position.

Dennis Keifer won election for the District 2 seat and the new Board of Supervisors would then officially begin governing the County on January 3rd.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA
Back to top button