Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Fan Voting Underway

Northeast Iowa is well-represented in the fan voting for the Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Awards

Fareway Stores and IAwrestle present the awards in coordination with the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA). The fan vote opened Monday, January 30th and is open until Monday, February 6th. 

Among the top three Ms. Wrestler of the Year finalists are Charles City’s Lilly Luft and Decorah’s Naomi Simon. Nashua-Plainfield’s Garret Rinken is a finalist in the 1A Mr. Wrestler of the Year category; 2A Mr. Wrestler of the Year finalists include Nick Fox of Osage; and Waverly-Shell Rock’s Ryder Block is among the top three in Class 3A Mr. Wrestlers.

Fan vote winners will count as ONE vote towards the IWCOA’s committee votes in EACH round. (For example: Wrestler A received enough fan votes to place second in the poll but that does not guarantee them to move on to the next round. IWCOA has selected 12 coaches and officials to serve on the committee. The fan vote is the 13th vote.) The two runner-up student athletes in each class will receive finalist award plaques. 

All finalists will be invited to attend the luncheon awards banquet at the Fareway Conference Center in Boone on Wednesday, March 1st. Dan Gable and Mark Ironside will hand out awards.

**vote once every 24 hours. please wait a full 24 hours. (for example: you can’t vote monday at 8pm and then tuesday at 8am because it is a new day. 24 hours means 24 hours limit applies.)

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA
Back to top button