Crime & PoliceHealth & LivingNews

“High Five Rural Traffic Safety Project” Underway in Mitchell County

North Iowa’s Mitchell County is part of the “High Five Rural Traffic Safety Project” to study traffic safety on Iowa’s secondary roads.

Iowa State Patrol Trooper Tom Williams says Mitchell County is one of five counties in the state selected for the study through the Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS).


The High Five project will look at improving safety on secondary roads from an engineering aspect, education and by keeping an eye on driver habits.

The DPS launched the new initiative in December in Mitchell as well as Appanoose, Fremont, Humboldt, and Keokuk counties.

The “High Five Rural Traffic Safety Project” will conclude on September 30, 2023.

Mark Pitz

News Director/Weekdays 10am to 2pm on 95.9 KCHA
Back to top button